Southeast Michigan Woodworkers

Gather, share, learn and enjoy with other woodworkers!
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:53 pm 

Evening All!

Hopefully everyone can still see and hasn't been blinded by the light.... er...eclipse....

I just wanted to give positive recognition to HMI, and specifically, to Justin McKenzie at HMI. I am relatively new to the world of fine furniture making and have very little experience with mills. You don't need much knowledge when you are getting KD Pine 2x4's :). I reached out to HMI on a whim, looking for a place that was somewhat local (I am in Royal Oak) and I could get a decent price without ordering 2000 Board Feet. This is a hobby for me and I am still gathering some tools, so I am not pushing out custom orders en masse - nor do I have the room to store a ton of wood. Justin worked with me (very patiently, answering every single question I had, without making me feel dumb), and I was able to pickup my first delivery of Cherry this morning. It is currently unloaded and sitting in the garage, waiting for me to better sort and sticker it - and then mill it.

I saw that sometimes the board does mass orders via HMI (Kinda wish I had gotten in on the Maple one, oh well - Next time!) and just wanted to throw out another positive experience with them.

Now, let's make some sawdust!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:25 pm 
Obsessed

you can still get in on the maple order.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:37 pm 

I mentioned the Maple order - He knew exactly who I was talking about! I will throw some numbers together and shoot you a PM.

Very happy with what I picked up today. Looking forward to trying to make the next meeting to meet some of you fine folk!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:13 am 
Journeyman

Great to hear! I'm curious - what did you get and at what price?
I'm interested in some cherry as well.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:34 am 
Master