Southeast Michigan Woodworkers

Gather, share, learn and enjoy with other woodworkers!
It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Bed Rails
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:54 pm 
Apprentice

Curious what others experience is with using old bed rails for welding projects? I'm new to welding and I tried to make a roller base out of some but they seem difficult to work with. Hard to cut, hard to drill, welding seems to be a challenge too but that may be me as I have very little practice.

Post subject: Re: Bed Rails
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:45 am 
Elite

Aaron Nunn wrote:
they seem difficult to work with. Hard to cut, hard to drill

They are usually made with melted down scrap steel & can have anything from cast-iron to harden tool steel in their composition. Best bet for drilling is to use a good quality cobalt drill bit running slow with some type of cutting oil. Cutting is best done using an abrasive wheel in a angle grinder or chop-saw.
As for welding you want to use a high carbon wire or electrode. I have a old arc-welder & use Blue Max 2100 electrodes made by Lincoln for dissimilar metals like bed frames.

Doug

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:41 am 
Elite

I have made a few projects out of bed rails, they cut fine with a portable band saw. I used a flux welder to weld them together it works good, make sure you clean your metal good, a lot of frames are power coated. What kind of welder are you using, stick,mig, tig?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:28 pm 
Apprentice

I am using a Mig with 75/25 shielding gas with the wire that came in the welder. I appreciate the tips. I doubt I could justify special wire for just a few rails. I would be better off to invest that money in regular steel.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:46 pm 
Elite

Aaron Nunn wrote:
I doubt I could justify special wire for just a few rails.
Yeah probably better to practice on scrap stock if you have some.